top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnaya Tande

Fete de la musique

One of the cool things about going to Lille when I did, is that there was so much going on. They had bus drivers striking and kicking people off the bus, the Pride Fest, Free days at the musesums, and "Fete de la Musique", music festival. We have these too here, the Dane County Fair for example. When I heard about this, I thought it was be an amazing thing to experince as well. I had been to Pride already, and I def needed to know if everybody had the same enthusiasm for other city wide events. And turns out, they do! We walked around the entire city looking for music, and we found people partying on every corner. Music of all genres, in different languages and from different countires. As we were out, we had wanted to eat out as well, but so did everybody else! The first couple places we went to had waits up to over an hour! We ended up eating at a fries place that Thomas suggested on the square. Unlike Dane County Fair, when the event was over, it didn't actually end. The streets cleared of bands, music groups and individuals and opened up to dance clubs, bars pining open all doors and windows to let music out, and just everywhere playing music as loud as they could, often overlapping with each other.


The most interesting thing I learned, is probably how diverse France is when it comes to music. The French music I had heard before going there was mostly all pop-type music, but throughout the night, I heard french rap, french rock, french alternitive, etc. After this, my french music play list is sooo much larger. One thing I appreciate about french music, is the multitude of languages that end up in the music. I feel like american music is all in english, with splatterings of spainish here and there, but french often has French, English, Spanish and even some African languages. Loved learning this and hearing these things!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page